Kritzinger Safari Award Lecture

The Kritzinger Safari Award Lecture is a prestigious named lecture in honour of the late Dr Michiel Kritzinger. He distinguished himself as a pioneer in modern refractive surgery and identified the need to promote the subspecialty. As part of his efforts to further the field of refractive sugery, he originally instituted the lecture as the “Safari Lecture” in 1999 during a local meeting of the ISRS in Swaziland. After his passing in April 2000, the lecture was renamed to the Kritzinger Safari Lecture. Recipients of this award lecture have to exhibit the same character traits which Dr Kritzinger was known for, namely to be an original thinker and innovator, demonstrate the same leadership and perseverance, as well as show the energy so typical of him. Furthermore the recipient has to make a significant contribution to the field of refractive surgery.

Previous recipients of the lecture were:
1999 Klaus Ditzen
2000 J Charles Casebeer
2001 Andries A Stulting
2002 Michael Knorz
2003 Charles Claoué
2005 George O Waring III
2007 Stephen Updegraff
2009 Johan A De Lange
2011 Spencer P Thornton, MD
2015 Guy M Kezirian, MD
2017 Hideharu Fukasaku, MD

Hideharu Fukasaku MD

Owner Fukasaku Eye Institute, Yokohama, Japan

Hideharu Fukasaku is a leading Japanese Ophthalmologist and internationally recognized leader in Anterior Ciliary Sclerotomy for Presbyopia reversal and glaucoma control.

Dr Fukasaku was the first to teach Phacoemulsification and the first to teach Refractive surgery in Japan. He is the inventor of numerous surgical instruments and devices as well as the author of dozens of published papers on ophthalmic surgery. He is also the winner of many honours for his teaching techniques, including the Grand Prize in the ASCRS Film Festival, the International Leadership Award in Ophthalmology by the Hawaiian Eye Foundation, and others, such as these listed below, which are showing the past 20 years only:

  • 1996 Understanding Risk & Benefits of RK/PRK/LASIK for Successful Refractive Surgery ASCRS Film Festival Winner
  • 1997 Delayed Wound Healing in LASIK, ASCRS Film Festival, Runner Up
  • 1998 Accommodation in the Pseudophake ASCRS Film Festival Grand Prize
  • 1999 Surgical Correction of Presbyopia, ASCRS Film Festival Winner
  • 2000 start Phakic IOL, Artisan IOL implant to treat high myopia
  • 2001 Trabeculo-Uveosclerolotomy, ASCRS Film Festival Runner Up
  • 2002 International Guest Judge of ASCRS Film Festival
  • 2002 AAO speech at the General Session about Presbyopia Correction
  • 2003 Surgical Treatment of Keratoconus, ASCRS Film Festival Runner Up
  • 2004 Triamcinolon Assisted Ophthalmic Surgery. ASCRS Film Festival Winner
  • 2007 Microincision Trabeculectomy or Sclerostomy, ASCRS Runner Up
  • 2008 Fork Tip, ASCRS Film Festival Winner
  • 2009 CO2 Laser in Ptosis and Eye Lid Surgery, ASCRS Film Festival Runner up
  • 2010 Microincision Trabeculectomy, Article
  • 2012 Retro Lenticular Illumination, ASCRS Film Festival Winner
  • 2016 Microincision Filtration Surgery for Glaucoma, ASCRS Film Festival Runner Up
  • 2016 Published four books for the general people and they become best-sellers
  • 2017 Awarded at the international competition of the art award at the international ART OLYMPIA.